There are fifteen active monasteries in Moscow, but only five can be called the most famous. These include the Novospassky Monastery, which is associated with the Romanov family. It is often visited by residents of Moscow and tourists.
The Novospassky Monastery in Moscow is one of the most famous monasteries in the city and is popular with locals and tourists. It is not included in the tourist route of the city, but many people visit it.
Why is the monastery so popular and among the most famous?
Firstly, it is located in a beautiful place, standing on a hill near the bank of the Moskva River. The monastery is quiet, calm and you have a rest in soul. It is for this reason that many choose monasteries for walks. He is involved in a scandalous story, his image adorned a silver coin with a face value of 25 rubles, which was issued by the Bank of Russia in 2017 (a series of architectural monuments).
Secondly, unique old Denmark has been preserved in the monastery; it is associated with the Romanov family. Founded in 1490 by Grand Duke Ivan III. All buildings are considered cultural heritage sites and are protected by the state.
The walls and towers of the monastery were erected in 1642, they are completely preserved (they were repeatedly restored).
For several centuries the monastery was the ancestral tomb of the Romanovs. There is a monument to the 400th anniversary of the election to the reign of the Romanov dynasty (the first and last tsar from the Romanov family) and stands with information about the royal family.
In 1935, the monastery was taken over by the NKVD, which converted the buildings into warehouses and living quarters. Despite this, all the buildings of the monastery have survived.
The main building of the monastery is the six-pillar Transfiguration Cathedral (1645-1649), in the 17th century it was the largest in Moscow.
The temple was erected at the expense of Tsar Mikhail Fedorovich. The Transfiguration Cathedral is the second stone church of the monastery, the first was built in 1494 (not preserved).
The Church of the Intercession and the refectory were erected in the second half of the 17th century; it is one of the oldest buildings in the monastery.
Only two buildings were erected in the second half of the 18th century, they are also unique. The construction of the Church of the Sign was completed in 1795, architect E. Nazarov.
Until 1759, a belfry operated in the monastery, which was built by Patriarch Filaret in 1622. It was dilapidated, in its place a bell tower with a height of 78 m was built (1759-1785).
Its walls and vault are covered with paintings, it has been restored.
The buildings were preserved due to the fact that the monastery planned to organize a "museum of history and modern practice of restoration work in the USSR." In 1990, it was returned to the Moscow Patriarchate, like most other monasteries in the city.
After the revolution, the bells of the monastery were destroyed, so in 2014 a new 16-ton "Romanovsky" bell was cast.
You can get to the monastery on foot from the Proletarskaya metro station, the distance is 880 m, from the Tulskaya metro station by bus 9 to the Arbatetskaya street stop, then 900 m on foot.