Torvalds Linus: السيرة الذاتية ، والوظيفة ، والحياة الشخصية

جدول المحتويات:

Torvalds Linus: السيرة الذاتية ، والوظيفة ، والحياة الشخصية
Torvalds Linus: السيرة الذاتية ، والوظيفة ، والحياة الشخصية

فيديو: Torvalds Linus: السيرة الذاتية ، والوظيفة ، والحياة الشخصية

فيديو: Линус показал своё рабочее место (Linus Torvalds Guided Tour of His Home Office) 2022, ديسمبر
Anonim

يُعرف Linus Torvalds في المقام الأول بأنه الرجل الذي يقف وراء Linux ، وهو نظام التشغيل المجاني الأكثر شعبية في أوائل التسعينيات. يستخدم هذا النظام في ملايين الأجهزة المحمولة وأجهزة الكمبيوتر المكتبية حول العالم. اليوم لا يزال Torvalds ينسق مشروع Linux ، وهو الذي يتخذ القرارات بشأن إجراء تغييرات على فرع kernel الرسمي.

Torvalds Linus: السيرة الذاتية ، والوظيفة ، والحياة الشخصية
Torvalds Linus: السيرة الذاتية ، والوظيفة ، والحياة الشخصية

السنوات المبكرة

ولد المبرمج لينوس تورفالدس عام 1969 في العاصمة الفنلندية هلسنكي. أسماء والديه كانت نيلز وآنا تورفالدس ، وكلاهما كانا صحفيان حسب المهنة. أعطوا اسم لينوس لابنهم تكريما للكيميائي الشهير لينوس بولينج ، الحائز على جائزة نوبل عام 1954.

في المدرسة ، كان Torvalds "الطالب الذي يذاكر كثيرا" الكلاسيكي - لقد برع في العلوم الدقيقة ، لكنه كان متواضعا وغير متواصل. بدأ لينوس في الانخراط في البرمجة في عام 1981 ، بعد أن أظهر له جده ، عالم الرياضيات ليو تورفالدس ، آلة الحوسبة الإلكترونية الخاصة به - Commodore VIC-20. قرأ Linus الكتيبات الخاصة بهذا الكمبيوتر ، ثم أصبح مدمنًا على مجلات الكمبيوتر وبدأ في كتابة برامجه الصغيرة (أولاً في BASIC ، ثم في المجمع لاحقًا)

في عام 1987 ، اشترى Torvalds البالغ من العمر سبعة عشر عامًا منتجًا جديدًا لتلك السنوات ، Sinclair QL ، بدلاً من VIC-20 التي عفا عليها الزمن. يعمل هذا الكمبيوتر بمعالج Motorola 68008 بسرعة 8 ميجاهرتز ويحتوي على ذاكرة وصول عشوائي سعتها 128 كيلوبايت. كان سعره آنذاك حوالي 2000 دولار أمريكي.

بعد المدرسة الثانوية ، التحق لينوس بجامعة هلسنكي لدورة في علوم الكمبيوتر. ومع ذلك ، في صيف عام 1989 ، كان لا بد من تعليق الدراسة - تم تجنيد لينوس في الجيش لمدة 11 شهرًا (فنلندا دولة ذات تجنيد عام). ومع ذلك ، في الخدمة ، كان يعمل بشكل أساسي في العمل العقلي - الحسابات الباليستية.

صورة
صورة

بناء لينكس

بعد الجيش ، واصل لينوس دراسته في جامعة هلسنكي وأصبح أحد طلاب دورة C و Unix. سرعان ما قرأ كتابًا للأستاذ الهولندي أندرو تانينباوم بعنوان "تصميم وتنفيذ أنظمة التشغيل". ووصف ، من بين أمور أخرى ، نظام تشغيل التدريب Minix. تم إنشاؤه بواسطة Tanenbaum نفسه للطلاب الذين يدرسون بنية أنظمة Unix. كان لهذا الكتاب تأثير قوي على لينوس.

في يناير 1991 ، اشترى لنفسه جهاز كمبيوتر شخصي جديد - بمعالج Intel 386 وذاكرة وصول عشوائي سعتها 4 ميجا بايت وقرص صلب بسعة 40 ميجا بايت. جعلت خصائص هذا الجهاز من الممكن تثبيت نسخة من Minix عليه. تدريجيا ، بدأ Linus في تحسين نظام التشغيل هذا. قام أولاً بإنشاء برنامجه الخاص للمحطة البعيدة ، ثم كتب برنامج التشغيل لمحرك الأقراص المرنة ونظام الملفات وما إلى ذلك. في مرحلة معينة ، اتضح له أن البرامج التي أنشأها كانت في الواقع نسخة عاملة من نظام التشغيل الأصلي.

في 17 سبتمبر 1991 ، أصدر Linus الكود المصدري لنظام التشغيل الخاص به (الإصدار 0.01) للجمهور. لم تكن هناك عروض عامة في هذه الحالة. لقد أرسل رسائل فقط إلى العديد من المتسللين المألوفين بعنوان الخادم حيث كان من الممكن التعرف على عمله. جذبت شفرة المصدر على الفور اهتماما كبيرا. بدأ المئات ثم الآلاف من المبرمجين بدراسة هذا النظام (الذي سرعان ما أصبح يعرف باسم "Linux") ، مكملاً له وتحسينه.

بحلول بداية عام 1992 ، كان لدى Linux بالفعل عدد من الميزات التي يفتقر إليها Minix ، على وجه الخصوص ، وظيفة التبديل إلى القرص الصلب عند العمل مع الأدوات المساعدة الثقيلة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أضاف Linus بشكل دوري ميزات إلى نظام التشغيل الجديد التي طلبها المستخدمون في رسائل البريد الإلكتروني الخاصة بهم.

رفض Linus جميع عروض المكافآت ، لكنه ناشد مستخدمي Linux أن يرسلوا إليه بطاقات بريدية من المكان الذي يعيشون فيه. نتيجة لذلك ، بدأ في تلقي العديد من البطاقات البريدية من جميع أنحاء العالم - من اليابان وهولندا ونيوزيلندا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وما إلى ذلك. أي ، منذ بداية وجوده ، كان نظام لينكس يوزع مجانًا ، وتستمر هذه الممارسة حتى يومنا هذا.

في عام 1996 ، حصل Linux على شعاره الخاص - بطريق سمين مضحك Tux (Tux).في كتاب سيرته الذاتية For Pleasure ، الذي نُشر في عام 2001 ، كتب Torvalds أنه اختار مثل هذا التميمة لأن أحد هذه الطيور التي لا تطير قد صدمه مرة أثناء زيارته لحديقة الحيوان.

من بين العديد من رسومات البطريق المرسلة إليه من جميع أنحاء العالم ، اختار Linus نسخة المصمم Larry Ewing من التميمة. صنع إوينغ بطريقًا لطيفًا وغير عادي - مع منقار برتقالي وزعانف. طيور البطريق الحقيقية ، بالطبع ، لها زعانف ومنقار بلون مختلف - أسود.

مزيد من السيرة الذاتية والجوائز

في فبراير 1997 ، انضم Linus إلى شركة المعالجات الدقيقة الأمريكية Transmeta. عمل هناك حتى يونيو 2003 ، وبعد ذلك غادر إلى مختبرات تطوير المصادر المفتوحة (OSDL). تم إنشاء هذه المنظمة غير الربحية بهدف "تسريع نشر Linux في بيئة الشركة".

في يناير 2007 ، اندمجت OSDL مع مجموعة Free Standards أخرى غير هادفة للربح لتشكيل مؤسسة Linux Foundation. اليوم ، بعد أكثر من عشر سنوات ، لا تزال Torvalds واحدة من الشخصيات الرئيسية. في الوقت نفسه ، من المعروف أنه لا يعمل في مكتب مؤسسة لينكس ، الواقعة في مدينة بيفيرتون الأمريكية ، ولكن من المنزل.

صورة
صورة

في أكتوبر 2008 ، منح متحف تاريخ الكمبيوتر في ماونتن فيو ، كاليفورنيا ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، Torvalds جوائز Fellow عن عمله على Linux.

في عام 2012 ، تم إدخال المبرمج الموهوب إلى قاعة مشاهير الإنترنت. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، حصل هذا العام (مع العالم الياباني شينيا ياماناكا) على جائزة التكنولوجيا الألفية الفنلندية. تم تقديمه إلى تورفالدس شخصيًا من قبل رئيس فنلندا ، سولي نينيستو.

في أبريل 2014 ، حصل Torvalds على جائزة رائد هندسة الكمبيوتر من IEEE (معهد مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات). وفي عام 2018 ، منح المعهد نفسه جائزة إيبوكي لتورفالدس بعبارة "لقيادة تطوير وتوزيع نظام Linux".

صورة
صورة

الحياة الشخصية

في عام 1993 ، كان لينوس مساعدًا في جامعة هلسنكي وقام بتدريس الفصول هنا. في ذلك الوقت ، لم يكن الإنترنت شيئًا عاديًا بعد ، لذلك كلف طلابه ذات يوم بالمهمة التالية: كان على الجميع أن يرسلوا له رسالة من المنزل عبر البريد الإلكتروني.

في الأساس ، تلقى رسائل بريد إلكتروني منتظمة لا معنى لها. ومع ذلك ، قررت إحدى الطالبات (كان اسمها توف) اتخاذ خطوة أصلية للغاية - في رسالتها ، اتصلت بـ Linus في موعد. في غضون بضعة أشهر أصبحا زوجًا وزوجة.

صورة
صورة

بعد ذلك ، أنجبت لينوس وتوف (هي ، بالمناسبة ، بطلة متعددة لفنلندا في الكاراتيه) ثلاث بنات: في عام 1996 - باتريشيا ميراندا ، في عام 1998 - دانييلا يولاندا ، في عام 2000 - سيليست أماندا.

يعيش تورفالدس مع عائلته في بورتلاند الأمريكية. أصبح مواطنًا أمريكيًا في عام 2010.

شعبية حسب الموضوع

Torvalds Linus: Biography, Career, Personal Life

Table of contents:

Torvalds Linus: Biography, Career, Personal Life
Torvalds Linus: Biography, Career, Personal Life

Video: Torvalds Linus: Biography, Career, Personal Life

Video: Linus Torvalds Guided Tour of His Home Office 2022, December
Anonim

Linus Torvalds is known primarily as the man behind Linux, the most popular free operating system in the early nineties. This system is used in millions of mobile devices and desktops around the world. Today Torvalds still coordinates the Linux project, and it is he who makes decisions about making changes to the official kernel branch.

Torvalds Linus: biography, career, personal life
Torvalds Linus: biography, career, personal life

early years

Programmer Linus Torvalds was born in 1969 in the Finnish capital Helsinki. His parents' names were Nils and Anna Torvalds, both of whom were journalists by profession. They gave the name Linus to their son in honor of the famous chemist Linus Pauling, the 1954 Nobel Prize winner.

At school, Torvalds was a classic "nerd" - he excelled in the exact sciences, but at the same time he was uncommunicative and modest. Linus began to get involved in programming in 1981, after his grandfather, mathematician Leo Torvalds, showed him his electronic computing machine - the Commodore VIC-20. Linus read the manuals for this computer, and then became addicted to computer magazines and began to write his own small programs (first in BASIC, and later in assembler)

In 1987, seventeen-year-old Torvalds used the accumulated money to replace the outdated VIC-20 with a novelty of those years - the Sinclair QL. This computer ran on an 8MHz Motorola 68008 processor and had 128KB of RAM. Its price was then about 2000 US dollars.

After high school, Linus entered the University of Helsinki for a computer science course. However, in the summer of 1989, studies had to be suspended - Linus was drafted into the army for 11 months (Finland is a country with general conscription). However, in the service, he was mainly engaged in mental work - ballistic calculations.

Image
Image

Building Linux

After the army, Linus continued his studies at the University of Helsinki and became one of the students of the C and Unix course. Soon he read a book by professor from the Netherlands Andrew Tanenbaum "Design and Implementation of Operating Systems". It described, among other things, the Minix training operating system. It was created by Tanenbaum himself for students studying the structure of Unix systems. This book had a strong influence on Linus.

In January 1991, he bought himself a new personal computer - with an Intel 386 processor, 4 MB of RAM and a 40 MB hard drive. The characteristics of this machine made it possible to install a copy of the Minix on it. Gradually, Linus began to improve this OS. First he created his own program for the remote terminal, then he wrote the driver for the floppy drive, the file system, and so on. At a certain point, it became clear to him that the programs he created were in fact a working version of the original OS.

On September 17, 1991, Linus released the source code of his operating system (version 0.01) to the public. There were no public presentations in this case. He only sent messages to several familiar hackers with the address of the server where it was possible to get acquainted with his work. The source code immediately attracted great interest. Hundreds and then thousands of programmers began to study this system (which soon became known as "Linux"), supplementing and improving it.

By the beginning of 1992, Linux already had a number of features that Minix lacked, in particular, the function of swapping to the hard disk when working with heavy utilities. In addition, Linus periodically added features to the new OS that users requested in their emails.

Linus turned down all bounty offers, but appealed to Linux users to send him postcards from where they live. As a result, he began to receive many postcards from all over the world - from Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the USA and so on. That is, from the beginning of its existence, the Linux system was distributed free of charge, and this practice continues to this day.

In 1996, Linux got its own logo - the funny fat penguin Tux became it.In his autobiographical book For Pleasure, published in 2001, Torvalds writes that he chose such a mascot because one of these flightless birds pecked him once while visiting the zoo.

Of the many penguin drawings sent to him from all over the world, Linus chose designer Larry Ewing's version of the mascot. Ewing made a rather cute and unusual penguin - with an orange beak and flippers. Real penguins, of course, have flippers and a beak of a different color - black.

Further biography and awards

In February 1997, Linus joined the American microprocessor firm Transmeta. He worked there until June 2003, after which he left for the Open Source Development Labs (OSDL). This non-profit organization was created with the goal of "accelerating the deployment of Linux in the corporate environment."

In January 2007, OSDL and another non-profit Free Standards Group merged to form The Linux Foundation. Today, more than ten years later, Torvalds is still one of its key figures. At the same time, it is known that he does not work in the office of The Linux Foundation, located in the American city of Beaverton, but from home.

Image
Image

In October 2008, the Computer History Museum in Mountain View, California, USA, awarded Torvalds with the Fellow Awards for his work on Linux.

In 2012, the talented programmer was inducted into the Internet Hall of Fame. In addition, this year he became (together with the Japanese scientist Shinya Yamanaka) the winner of the Finnish Millennium Technology Prize. It was presented to Torvalds personally by the President of Finland, Sauli Niinistö.

In April 2014, Torvalds received the Computer Engineering Pioneer award from the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers). And in 2018, the same Institute awarded Torvalds with the Ibuki Prize with the wording "For leading the development and distribution of Linux."

Image
Image

Personal life

In 1993, Linus was an assistant at the University of Helsinki and taught classes here. At that time, the Internet was not yet an ordinary thing, so one day he gave his students the following assignment: everyone had to send him a message from home by e-mail.

Basically, he received regular, meaningless emails. However, one student (her name was Tove) decided on a very original step - in her message she called Linus out on a date. Within a few months they became husband and wife.

Image
Image

Subsequently, Linus and Tove (she, by the way, is a multiple champion of Finland in karate) had three daughters: in 1996 - Patricia Miranda, in 1998 - Daniela Yolanda, in 2000 - Celeste Amanda.

Torvalds lives with his family in the American Portland. He became a US citizen in 2010.

Popular by topic